The Creative Exchange – part 1

So early last month I signed up for The Creative Exchange. I had seen this early this year on Instagram and looked like a lot of fun. Well when the recent round was announced I was quick to register my interest. Sam Dunne, organiser behind this exchange explains the origin and aim here. It is a mystery swap, preparing between 4-8 gift items that will inspire your recipient to create. Whatever their passion maybe, or maybe even encourage them to try something new. I will be sharing the package I made for my recipient and as a little treat a little tutorial on one of the handmade items in the package.

But first the package I received, from the most thoughtful and generous Monica. I am going to let photos tell the story of excitement and delight. Monica ‘stalked’ me on social media, in the nicest possible way, and worked out exactly what I enjoy making, cooking and what I would probably like to try. She nailed it.

I have captured before and after shots, after all the brief was to wrap pretty. I had a little helper unwrap so I tested his patience by having wait during photo shots.

All these goodies arrived in a box with the prettiest address label. The light blue, yellow and white theme? Monica’s research results – she found out I was Argentinian and therefore paid homage to the Argentinian flag. Truly touching.

a

1st item

a1

gorgeous gold medallion stickers

a2

2nd item

b

wooden beads and cord – cannot wait to make my own bead necklace

c

3rd item

d

cutest paperclip bookmark by Binky Bop Inc.

e

4th item

f

oops another layer

g

and another…

h

worth the suspense, this exquisite turquoise coaster by Bronys Studio Shop and Showroom

i

5th item

j

another layer

k

darling mother of pearl buttons by East of India

l

6th item

n

a crack-a-mac macadamia nut cracker – came in handy for item#7

Monica tells me that the crocheted heart doily was made by a sweet 92-year-old woman – she made a dozen hearts for Monica’s wedding. I am honoured to have received this.

m

7th item

o

a bag of locally [Alstonville – Monica’s home town] grown macadamia nuts. Macadamia nuts are native Australian nuts. One of my favourite nuts. Monica picked up from my Instagram feed that I love to bake – I can’t wait to bake with these edible gems.

p

8th item

q

hand cream, lip balm and soap from Rainforest Remedies, lemon myrtle – even my little unwrapping helper said, mum this smells so nice

r

9th item

s

this miniature loom – again Monica cottoned onto my passion for miniatures – although she did point out this would make a unique piece of jewelery.

t

from the talented Creative Muster

u

10th item

v

DIY baubles from lovely Lincraft. Already have an idea brewing for this…

w

the card – letterbook

x

let’s just say it was 8 pages and is very special.

y

Collectively

z

Thank you just doesn’t cut it.

Overwhelmed to say the least.

 

 

One thought on “The Creative Exchange – part 1

Leave a Reply

