Cooking up a storm

Today I wanted to share a quick and easy but oh so adorable tutorial – kids apron. I was lucky enough to win a Rollie Pollie [jelly roll] from Riley Blake Designs on Instagram. Bella Boulevards Fresh Market collection is vibrant and whimsical, filled with citrus, florals and fruits. It screamed out kitchen to me. So with that I decided to make some children’s aprons. Here is how I made it. This size would be suitable for 3-5 year olds.

rollie pollie

Work out the order and placement of the strips. As I was going to donate these to my son’s pre-school I thought I would group ‘boy’ colours and ‘girl’ colours.

position strips

Sew the strips together with 1/4 inch allowance and press. I press the seam towards the darker colour of the 2.

Cut the panel in half, creating 2, 20 inch [50 cm] pieces.

sew strips

Sew these 2 panels together and press.

sew panels together

Measure 6 inches [15 cm] from both sides [top left and top right corners] towards the centre and mark. Measure 12 inches [30 cm] from both sides [bottom left and bottom right] upwards and mark. With a plate [or another circular object mark the shape on the fabric and cut [keep the pieces for the scrappy oven mits].

cut shape

Sew a 1/4 inch rolled hem around the entire apron. Press the hem and sew in threads.

rolled hem a

rolled hem

Sew the waist and neck straps securely in place with an X box. I used white herringbone tape, 8 inches [20 cm] for the waist straps and approximately 16 inches [40cm] for the neck strap.

sew straps

With the scraps I trimmed them into approximately 4 inch squares.

trim scraps

Quilted them with wadding.

quilt scrap

I machine sewed the matching bias binding leaving a loop at one of the corners to create play oven mits to match the aprons.

match with bias

Sewed in the threads.

sew bias

play oven mits

Lucky we had storm trooper to model the ‘girl’ one.

my models

 

Leave a Reply

