Hand-stitched Hoops

The Craft and Quilt Fair [Sydney] ran from June 17 – 21. I went along on the Sunday, with my neighbour and also met up with a new craft friend I met at a recent wedding I attended. I didn’t buy much except for some bias binding, loads and loads of metres in various colours for the yet to be made mini quilts, runners, pouches I have listed on growing to do list. I sat in the ‘wonderful one fabric quilts’ workshop. It was very interesting to learn that where cuts are placed and how the pieces are positioned produce a wonderful result with stunning effects.

The one display that took my breath away was by the Embroiderers’ Guild of NSW.

These hoops caught my eye. The colours. The stitches. The creativity.

main display 1

main display 3

hoops 1

hoops 2

hoops 3

hoops 4

hoop 1

hoop 2

These are crocheted button flowers – so so pretty.

hoop 3

hoop 4

It is fair to say I am drawn to bright colours but the simplicity of this sophisticated stitch in white I find stunning.

hoop 5

hoop 6

hoop 7

hoop 8

There were  so many quilts. Each one beautiful and/or intricate in different ways. These made it onto my camera’s memory.

bookshelf quilt

hexie love

little birds quilts

little houses quilt

major hexie crush

tree quilt

And this – 50 years of ‘Flower Power’ – freeform crochet hand stitched by Prudence Mapstone.

flower power 1

flower power 2

Hope you enjoyed this little re-cap of the show.

3 thoughts on “Hand-stitched Hoops

Leave a Reply

