Flowers and helicopters

Last Saturday my mum and I attended the Stitches and Craft Show in Sydney. We had a great time as always. We came away with a few goodies, some fat quarters, crochet pin markers, cutting dies and some double sided sticky tape [but that’s boring to photograph]. Here are my goodies…

stitches and craft show

I fell in love with helicopter fat quarter – I will make something for my little man not sure what just yet. Any ideas, most welcome! The orange and brown alongside it – might just become a lunch bag. The fat quarter bundle will be perfect with some tans and whites [striped, paisley] I have, again not sure what it will become.

Oh the crochet markers are fantastic, perfect for my AWIP, amigurumi work in progress. And the cutting dies, well I only just started playing with the bloom one and oh my, they turn out stunning. Here is what I made with scrap paper… I secured this one with thread and a bead.

flower bloom

Excuse my fancy filter and border I selected when I posted on Instagram. I made 3 sizes but can’t wait to make a bouquet with good quality paper . The dies are Lifestyle Crafts brand and I used them with my Cuttlebug machine.

We also came away very excited about Shashiko embroidery and Kanzashi flowers. The lovely Jane Mac Donald from Bebe BoldΒ gave a very interesting and inspiring workshop on Sashiko Style and Kogin Embroidery. We also spotted some Kanzashi flowers which I have been researching [of course ;)]

6 thoughts on “Flowers and helicopters

  1. I love to have a go at Shashiko embroidery. I’ve not done any yet but I’m sure I’d find very addictive. Glad you enjoyed your day. Something lovely about being at one of these events surrounded by like minded people.

Leave a Reply

