Crocheted Creatures – piglet

Well it is no secret that I LOVE crochet. For awhile there it was not fashionable to admit to this but I now, it’s common knowledge. I remember making a huge granny square blanket when I was 6 or 7. Sitting on the floor of the lounge room, the square getting bigger and bigger on my lap and it keeping me warm while I crocheted. Aside from observing my friend’s mum I don’t recall anyone really teaching me, maybe I was born with the gene, it was in my blood.  Crochet for me is fun because it’s quick, so it has the potential to produce quick projects. Yes it can be old fashioned, with granny squares and doilies but these days crochet can be hip. I have tried various projects, stitches and can now read more patterns [but now with the www and google – it’s not that hard]. I always wanted to try amigurumi. Amigurumi is a Japanese word to describe small crocheted stuffed animals [I think the word is used for knitted creatures too]. So I read some patterns and devoured Pinterest and got the gist of it. I came up with this creation all by myself, no pattern just made it up as I went along. I am quite happy with piglet and she now lives on my son’s chest of drawers. It had been elevated to a shelf as Master M can now reach piglet and pulled it’s tail for awhile, ouch 🙂

IMG_3563

5 thoughts on “Crocheted Creatures – piglet

  1. I love to crochet too but it has been such a long time since I actually did any. This little pig is so cute! Thanks for the lovely comment. I inspired you? wow….

    • Oh Janet thanks your sweet comment. Oh I will be re-reading your potty training posts with great interest when my lil man starts his training. He is only 16 months old and we heading into winter here down under so intend to try in 6 months or so.

Leave a Reply

