Self imposed challenge – 1st month

So I have a subscription to Better Homes and Garden magazine. And although I love to receive it each month, and flick through the pages and absorb the inspiration I thought I would impose a challenge on myself. Cook at least one dish from the magazine each month and use something [idea/colour palette/anything] in the magazine to create a card/gift. Self imposed challenges are good – you can make up your own rules, lol. Having said ┬áthat am running a little late. My subscription started last month with the September issue. So here I am with September issue received in August inspiration.

The scrumptious Greek Kourabiethes from the magazine.

2013-09-002

And mine – with alterations, almonds and walnuts. And not coated in all the icing sugar. And different shape. We enjoyed these for Father’s Day lunch.

2013-08-032

This springtime colour palette was….

2013-09-003

the inspiration for my Father’s Day card. A vintage car silhouette printed on an aged novel page. And paint swatch circles and bunting.

2013-09-004

Thanks for following me on this BHG SIC.

4 thoughts on “Self imposed challenge – 1st month

    • Thanks Lorraine. Oh I plan to share the results each month. Although blogging can be hard to ‘squeeze’ in sometimes, it can be a nice incentive to finish projects so you can share them.

  1. I love these challenges. About a year ago, I got fed up with the same old recipes, so I decided to challenge myself to try a new recipe every 2 weeks – some attempts are disasters, but a lot have gone onto my permanent recipe list!
    Having a blog is a crafting challenge for me too.
    Good luck with yours!

Leave a Reply

